While searching around for things to do in Florida, you’ll probably come across the amazing Jet Ski rental experience and wonder if you can bring your kids. Knowing that you love Jet Skiing and take every opportunity to dust your vehicle off and get on the road to the nearest lake. Your Instagram account is loaded with evidence of your acquired skill. You crave the spray of foamy water on your face as you bask in the rays of the sun. It is your idea of the best time. But why go it alone every time? Take the kids and see what a difference a family outing can make. After one time, this pastime will be tops on everyone’s list.
There is no doubt about it. Children take to Jet Skiing like ducks to water. They love the speed and feeling of exhilaration. Who doesn’t? Don’t miss a great opportunity to bond with the little ones while you enjoy the ride of your life. But there are safety rules to follow. Take the time to be prepared in advance.
Every child needs a personal flotation device that fits them properly and is in good order. Now that this priority has been addressed, where do they sit? Between two adults is ideal for maximum safety, especially for kids under 18 pounds. The first ride should be on the calm side to see how they react. Go slowly at first and stay completely in control. Then you can increase the speed and distance from shore. Don’t take them to rough water, and of course they should know how to swim.
Positioning children up front makes for more excitement as the waves will splash them, but they risk hitting the handlebars. Be wise and be safe. When you reach rough water or slow down abruptly, the chance of this is high. You make the decision and enforce basic Jet Ski rules. Remember that just being out on the water is enough.
Don’t panic if your child falls into the water. In fact, you should expect it and practice what to do ahead of time. Let the kid know the procedure: the adult in the back seat goes in to help get the child back on the Jet Ski. As the person swims, they keep their head above water to keep contact at all times.
The driver stops the engine immediately and remains on the vehicle. Everyone must check the nearby boat traffic before any action is taken: only a second and you are ready to react. There may also be potential dangers lurking in the water.
Now you know how to protect your child to ensure the most fun at your favorite watersport. The experience will be enhanced by your vigilance and care.
Here are some more tips, and limitations to know before hopping on a jet ski with kids.
As of the date of this article that following are the guidelines obtained from Florida Fish and Wildlife regarding jet ski age limit, safety gear, cutoff switch, age limit to drive a jet ski if you are considering to ride a jet ski with kids, boating license and more.
Each person operating, riding on, or being towed behind a personal watercraft (PWC), or jet ski shall wear an approved non-inflatable wearable personal flotation device (PFD). Inflatable PFDs are prohibited for personal watercraft (PWC), or jet ski use.
The operator of a personal watercraft (PWC), or jet ski shall attach the engine cutoff switch lanyard (if equipped by the manufacturer) to his/her person, clothing or PFD.
Personal watercraft (PWC), or jet ski may not be operated from 1/2 hour after sunset to 1/2 hour before sunrise, even if navigation lights are used. Remember, both federal and state law requires the use of navigation lights from sunset to sunrise.
A person shall be at least 14 years of age to drive a jet ski, or personal watercraft (PWC) in Florida.
A person shall be at least 18 years of age to rent a personal watercraft (PWC), or jet ski in Florida.
It is unlawful for a person to knowingly allow a person under 14 years of age to operate a personal watercraft (PWC), or jet ski (a second-degree misdemeanor).
Anyone born on or after January 1, 1988 is required to either have successfully completed a National Association of State Boating Law Administrators (NASBLA) approved boating education course or have passed a course equivalency or temporary certificate examination and have in their possession a boating education ID card and a photo identification card before operating a watercraft with a motor of 10 HP or more in Florida. Identification cards for persons completing the course or the equivalency exam are good for a lifetime. Temporary Certificate exams are made available to the public through contractors. The temporary certificate is valid for 12 months from the issue date.
Anyone born on or after January 1, 1988 who operates a watercraft powered by 10 horsepower or more shall pass an approved boater safety course and have in his/her possession photographic identification and a boating safety education identification card issued by the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission.
If you are looking to hop onto a jet ski with kids, check out our Jet Ski Rentals here, and other Boat Rentals. Find other Things to do in Orlando too such as Rent a Kayak, ATV Rentals, Paddle Board Rentals, and more.
Check Out these related Blog Post:
Rockon Recreation Rentals is the best place on the web to search local rental adventures, compare prices, and book outdoor recreation gear & equipment from local individuals and businesses, all in one place.
Explore Jetski Rentals Near You
Moore ATV Rental Accidental Damage Waiver
We offer an ACCIDENTAL DAMAGE WAIVER for $25 PER ATV – The Accidental Damage Waiver is NOT insurance. It simply affords you limited protection against your liability to the owner of the rental unit for physical damage of the rental equipment while in you care. If a Damage Waiver is purchased and you damage the rental unit, you would ONLY be legally responsible for any and all damages up to the full amount of the damage deposit paid to repair the rental unit – instead of the entire out of pocket costs. Damage Deposit, specified amount up to $1,000 PER ATV, Credit Card information will be held and NOT charged, unless damage has occurred to ANY ATVs while ATVs are in your care. If all is well when you return the ATV at the end of your scheduled time and no damage has occurred, damage deposit per ATV will NOT be charged.
PURCHASING THE ACCIDENTAL DAMAGE WAIVER MEANS ANY DAMAGE AMOUNT EXCEEDING YOUR DAMAGE DEPOSIT WILL BE WAIVED.
EXAMPLE: ATV HAS COLLISION AND THE WHEEL GETS BENT AND PLASTICS ARE BROKEN. THE REPLACEMENT COST WOULD BE CLOSE TO $550. WITH A DAMAGE WAIVER PURCHASED, THE ONLY CHARGES ARE THE $150 DEPOSIT. THIS WILL SAVE $400 JUST IN PARTS.
WAIVER DOES NOT COVER LOST OR STOLEN ATVs OR ANY DAMAGE CAUSED BY MUDDING, JUMPING, RACING, SINKING, FIRE, TIPPING, ROLLING OR ANY OTHER VIOLATIONS OF THE GENERAL RULES OF OPERATION AND SAFE USE.
DECLINE ACCIDENTAL DAMAGE WAIVER: If the Accidental Damage Waiver is NOT purchased, you will be legally responsible for the full amount of damage, which can be up to $8,000.00 for the full replacement of the equipment, plus any downtime which can include additional recovery fees and loss of used equipment.
If there is any damage upon your return, we will provide a written estimate for repairs within 24 HOURS. This includes parts, taxes, labor and rental down time. Any damage to a part constitutes full replacement of that part.
We will notify you of the estimate and then charge the credit card used for your deposit unless other payment is arranged. If your credit card does not have enough funds to pay the the replacement cost, you must pay in cash or wire transfer WITHIN 24 HOURS OF RECEIPT OF ESTIMATE.
THIS ACCIDENTAL DAMAGE WAIVER IS NULL AND VOID IF ANY RENTER RIDES OUT OF DESIGNATED RIDING AREA OR INTO ANY RESTRICTED AREAS
Prior to departure and upon returning of the rental, we will inspect the machine with you and note any damages. During your rental, you are legally responsible for any and all damages to the rental that occurs while in your care.
If all is well when you return the ATV at the end of your scheduled time and no damage has occurred, damage deposit per ATV will NOT be charged.
RENTAL AGREEMENT, DAMAGE WAIVER AND RELEASE OF LIABILITY FORMS
Upon arrival to Croom, you will meet with Rick, he will go over the ATV, safety and provide all required documents – Please read and sign Rental Agreement, Accidental Damage Waiver and Release of Liability, in which ALL MUST be signed, to rent and operate any ATVs.